Short answer

A CNN investigation published October 15, 2026 reports that eating-disorder clinicians are seeing more patients with anorexia using GLP-1 drugs, many bought through telehealth sites with little friction. The takeaway: before you pay any program, find out how it checks your weight, identity and eating-disorder history.

CNN's account rests on interviews and one patient's experience; it is not an audit of any single company.

What did CNN report about GLP-1 telehealth and eating disorders?

CNN reported that "several clinicians and eating disorder specialists" are seeing "sharp rises" in patients with anorexia using GLP-1s, "many of whom obtained them via telehealth platforms with remarkable ease." The story centers on one Chicago patient, AJ Jasper, 40, who described getting the drugs from several online sellers.

Jasper said he submitted a form to Hims & Hers, "lying about his weight," and the medication arrived in about two days. CNN reports he also bought from Ro, Good Life Meds, MEDVi and Priority Meds, using only "compounded, copycat versions." These are his accounts.

A Hims & Hers spokesperson told CNN that eating-disorder screening is mandatory and that "any answer indicating current or past disordered eating triggers additional clinical questions, closer provider review." Ro said its intake form asks about eating disorders and clinicians "can, at any point, request records, require a video evaluation, or order lab testing." RXPros, which acquired PriorityMeds, said oversight was "central" to its processes. MEDVi and Good Life Meds did not respond.

CNN also cites a Yale "secret shopper" study of 49 websites (the study appears in JAMA; figures as CNN reported them): 92% prescribed, only 55% asked about eating-disorder history, and 33% required a video or phone call. More coverage is on our news page.

Why does screening matter if GLP-1s are FDA-approved?

Approval covers specific patients, not everyone. The Wegovy and Zepbound labels approve weight-reduction use in adults with obesity, or with overweight plus at least one weight-related condition. Neither label lists eating disorders as a use, and Novo Nordisk told CNN its products are "not approved for the treatment of eating disorders."

In the Zepbound trials described in its label, "obesity" meant BMI ≥30 and "overweight" meant BMI 27 to <30 with a condition such as high blood pressure. A program that never confirms your weight is relying entirely on what you type.

Jasper told CNN that on the drugs, "I was never able to realize how malnourished I was because I wasn't thinking about food at all." For side-effect evidence, see our GLP-1 side effects review.

Many programs prescribe compounded semaglutide or tirzepatide. These are not FDA-approved and are not the same as Wegovy or Zepbound; FDA "does not review compounded drugs for safety, effectiveness or quality before they are marketed."

How do telehealth GLP-1 programs screen patients?

Most programs start with an online questionnaire a clinician reviews; some add a video visit in certain states. On October 15, 2026 we read each program's own public pages. Few describe how weight is verified, and only one we read named eating disorders on its public pages.

A program may screen more thoroughly inside its intake than its public pages describe, so "not stated" means not stated publicly, not "not done."

What each program says publicly about screening, read October 15, 2026
ProgramWeight/BMI check statedClinician review formatEating-disorder screening statedFollow-up statedSource (domain)Read date
NexLife"BMI of 27 or higher may qualify"; verification method not statedOnline intake reviewed by a U.S.-licensed provider; video not statedNot statedCare 360 "clinical follow-up"nexlife.us2026-10-15
SunlightNot statedClinician reviews quiz "to determine if you need an appointment"; unlimited video visits offeredNot statedRefill form after third weekly dosesunlight.com2026-10-15
BetterMe RxNot statedDoctors review answers; video or phone "may be required" in some statesNot statedNot statedbettermerx.com2026-10-15
MEDViNot statedProviders "review your answers" after an online visitNot statedPatient portal check-insmedvi.org2026-10-15
Fridays"BMI of 20 or higher" to start; verification not statedVideo visit or, "depending on the state," noneLists "active eating disorder or history of eating disorder" as a reason you may not be eligibleCheck-ins "usually once a month"; labs orderedjoinfridays.com2026-10-15
Remedy MedsNot statedQuiz, then clinician plan "within 24h"; video availableNot stated"Monthly clinician check-in"remedymeds.com2026-10-15
Noom MedNot statedIntake survey; clinician evaluates "all online"Not stated"Unlimited access to your clinician"noom.com2026-10-15
Sprout HealthNot statedMedical questionnaire reviewed by clinicianNot statedNew questionnaire before each refilljoinsprouthealth.com2026-10-15
FoundNot statedClinician reviews assessmentNot stated"Check-ins continue monthly"joinfound.com2026-10-15
RoPage not readable on 2026-10-15Told CNN clinicians can "require a video evaluation"Told CNN its intake form asks about eating disordersTold CNN it follows up regularlyro.co / CNN2026-10-15
Hims & HersPage not readable on 2026-10-15Not stated publiclyTold CNN screening is "mandatory"Told CNN it follows up regularlyhims.com / CNN2026-10-15

None of the readable pages said how your weight is confirmed. That is the gap Jasper described. Our ranking method explains how we weigh screening against other factors, and full write-ups are in our program reviews.

What did FDA say about telehealth red flags?

FDA's page on unapproved GLP-1 drugs, current as of October 1, 2026, lists warning signs, including a company that "does not require a screening and prescription by a licensed doctor before providing medicine" or "does not have a licensed doctor available to answer questions after you receive your medication."

FDA also flags claims that "the compounded drug is the same as an FDA-approved drug." Our red flags guide expands on each one.

What this means for you

If you have obesity, or overweight with a related condition, a telehealth program can be a reasonable route. The safeguard is honest screening on both sides. Run your own BMI numbers first, then use the questions below to tell a careful program from a merely fast one.

BMI = 703 × weight in pounds ÷ (height in inches)².

Example 1. You are 5 ft 6 in (66 in) and 180 lb. 703 × 180 = 126,540. 66² = 4,356. 126,540 ÷ 4,356 = 29.0. That is the overweight band, so the label route needs a weight-related condition. A careful program asks which one.

Example 2. You are 5 ft 4 in (64 in) and 115 lb. 703 × 115 = 80,845. 64² = 4,096. 80,845 ÷ 4,096 = 19.7. That is below every threshold above. At 64 inches, BMI 27 starts near 157 lb and BMI 30 near 175 lb.

Example 3. You are 5 ft 10 in (70 in) and 140 lb: BMI 20.1. To appear at BMI 30, a form would need to show about 209 lb (30 × 4,900 ÷ 703), roughly 69 lb more. Unverified self-report cannot catch that.

Ask before paying:

See our guide to choosing an online GLP-1 provider.

Can you get a GLP-1 online without a video visit?

Often, yes. Several programs we read describe a form reviewed by a clinician, with video required only in some states. CNN, citing the Center for Connected Health Policy, reports that most states do not allow a questionnaire to be the sole basis of the patient relationship, but rules vary by state.

A video visit does not guarantee good screening. Kyle Zebley of the American Telemedicine Association told CNN that "a questionnaire that can be gamed with false information is a clinical governance failure, not a telehealth-specific one." More background is in our online GLP-1 telehealth overview.

Frequently asked questions

Did CNN say any company broke the law?
No. CNN reported one patient's account that he obtained GLP-1s from several sites, including by lying about his weight, plus clinicians' observations. Hims & Hers and Ro described their screening to CNN, and RXPros commented for PriorityMeds. MEDVi and Good Life Meds did not respond, according to CNN.
Are GLP-1 drugs approved for eating disorders?
No. Novo Nordisk told CNN its products are "not approved for the treatment of eating disorders," and Eli Lilly said it "does not promote or encourage" unapproved uses. Clinicians CNN interviewed rejected any claimed benefit for anorexia, while noting emerging evidence for binge eating disorder or bulimia.
What BMI do Wegovy and Zepbound labels require?
The labels approve weight-reduction use in adults with obesity, or overweight with at least one weight-related condition. In the Zepbound trials described in its label, that meant BMI ≥30, or BMI 27 to under 30 with a condition such as high blood pressure. Compounded versions are not FDA-approved.
How can a telehealth program verify my weight?
Options include a scale photo, a live photo, recent medical records or a video visit. Beat's Kerri Fleming told CNN some people have falsified images, so no method is perfect. None of the program pages we read on October 15, 2026 described how weight is confirmed, so ask directly.
Where can I get help for an eating disorder?
Talk to your own doctor or a licensed mental health professional, and tell any prescriber about current or past disordered eating. If you are in crisis in the U.S., call or text 988. If you feel in immediate danger, call 911.

Sources